Civil Society Scholar Award

The Civil Society Scholar Awards support international academic mobility to enable doctoral students and university faculty to access resources essential to their professional development as a scholar, teacher, or public intellectual. The awards support innovative projects that will enrich research, facilitate the exchange of ideas, and help build international networks.

Doctoral students of eligible fields studying at accredited universities inside or outside of their home country, and full-time faculty members (master’s degree required) teaching at universities in their home country, who are citizens of the following countries, are eligible to apply: Afghanistan, Albania, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Burma/Myanmar, Cambodia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Haiti, Kosovo, Laos, Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Palestine, Serbia, Tajikistan, Tunisia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

Most projects will last between 2 and 10 months, and require an international component. Eligible fields of study generally fall within the social sciences and humanities. Proposals related to the following subject areas are particularly welcome:

  • law, justice, and governance
  • sustainable development and natural resource management
  • economic rights and empowerment of the poor
  • public health, social work, and community development
  • new media law and policy
  • inclusive education
  • post-conflict studies
  • human rights

Applicants must be currently affiliated with an academic institution, and projects must be clearly linked to current research and teaching responsibilities. Guidelines for applications, including maximum levels of available funding, are listed on the preliminary application form attached here.  The deadline for applications is April 27th, 2014.